Tweets? Twits? Twitter?

I’m gonna go on record here. I love Twitter. Never thought I’d say it out loud, much less on the Interwebs, but there you go. I do. And it’s all my very good friend April’s fault. Sorry to throw you under the bus like that, April, but it sorta is your fault.

“How?” you might ask.

Here’s what happened: I was at a Kansas Writers Association meeting in mid-January, and April and her husband were giving a presentation about the importance of social media for writers. They were very convincing, and since I both trust and adore April, I decided to stop resisting and joined Twitter.

This the part where I tell my very good friend April something important: Thank you for pestering (okay, maybe pestering is a little strong) me to get on Twitter. It has opened up a plethora of resources and connected me to some pretty amazing people.

Here’s what I love most about Twitter: I love connecting with other writers, teachers, and librarians. I love being able to engage in conversations, albeit briefly, with some of my favorite authors in a way that is meaningful and personal. I also follow a bunch of celebrities, most of who are in my favorite T.V. shows, just for fun. Michael Weatherly from NCIS is a hoot, and I absolutely LOVE Pauley Perrette from the same show.

Speaking of T.V.…connecting with other fans of my favorite T.V. shows or sports team is another thing I love about Twitter: #Hashtags!!

Okay, for those of you who are wondering what all the fuss about #Hashtags is, here it is in a nutshell: Hashtags indicate trends in conversations or topics. Example: while watching my Alma Mater Wichita State University’s men’s basketball team, I’ll add #FearTheWheat, #GoShockers , and maybe #GoShox if I can squeeze it into the 140 characters my tweet allows me.

Using Hashtags in your tweets is also a way to zero in on what I like to call “Tweetversations.” For Example: once a month on Sunday night, I enjoy tweeting with other English/language arts teachers across the country as we talk about reading  instruction and books via #titletalk. As a matter of fact, I’ll share a link to a site that has 20 great #Hashtags for educators: http://edudemic.com/2012/01/20-hashtags/.

But honestly, I mostly find Twitter to be rich in resources for me as a teacher, reader, and writer. I have made some amazing connections using this tool, thanks to my very good friend April. For me, Twitter is more than social networking—it is connecting with others who share the same passions and love for learning. So…if you’d like to join the tweetversation, you can now follow me on Twitter: @MickiFryhover.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Denton
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 18:18:35

    Twitter is great isn’t it? I think if you use it as a resource, like you seem to be doing, then there is a great deal of fun and support out there. Glad you like it, happy tweeting 🙂

    Reply

  2. K.T. Hanna
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 16:57:24

    Twitter is fantastic. I’ve found so many good friends through it 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Lucie Smoker

Kindle top ten author and freelance writer

Dani Stone

I Hear Laugh Tracks

Cat Poland

When Life Gives You a Story, Tell It

chantelltiatrakul

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

Summer of SUCCESS

Having FUN Getting Ready for Sixth Grade!

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

kennedp85

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Russell

YA AUTHOR * SUBMISSIONS COORDINATOR * EDITORIAL ASSISTANT * FREELANCE EDITOR

Our Fun Filled Journey to Motherhood

Just your average lesbian TTC blog!

Book Tasty

a young adult fiction blog

The Tikiman Says...

The Writing Life

Neal Shusterman's Blog

The author's official blog

April in Wichita

squeezing more Life into Poetry

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

