#TeachersWrite: The Best. Summer. Camp. EVER.

Greetings, Campers!! Well, I’m working reaaalllyyyy hard to take my own advice about getting off my butt and writing. Like Yoda said: “Try not. Do or do not, there is no try.” 

So. I am going to put my keyboard where my mouth is. I’ve been writing this week, not as much as I shoulda coulda woulda, but I’ve actually put words on paper. As in complete sentences and paragraphs! And that feels really good. I’ve also been talking shop this week with other writers on Twitter, Facebook, and right here on Micki’s Musings which has done wonders for me in terms of motivation and encouragement to get going and keep going.

Which brings me to something VERY exciting that came together this week as a result of a few casual conversations among some fellow teacher/writers I follow on Twitter. These teachers were talking about the very thing I was talking about in my previous post: finding more time to write and how our writing time as teachers always seems to get pushed off until those glorious months of summer.

Well, the fabulous Kate Messner, who is a well-established author of numerous books for kids, put some feelers out on Twitter to see if any of us teacher or librarian types (who also write) would be interested in participating in a virtual summer writing workshop. Several of us who follow Kate, enthusiastically said, “YES!!!!!” and off she went, planning away. She created this lovely little summer writing workshop she named #TeachersWrite.

Long story short, those of us who were interested took off with it, too. We retweeted on Twitter and shared links on Facebook. At last count, there were 570+ participants signed up. Kate was astonished. I was only a little surprised at that number, as I know there are many, many others out there like me who want to learn the secrets of balance. I will be sharing my progress on my current work in progress (WIP) as #TeachersWrite gets into full swing.

Why am I telling you this? I’m telling you this because there are LOTS of folks out there who, like me (and maybe even you), need a little nudge to get on the right writing track. I think it’s an amazing thing Kate is doing for us in helping us form our own writing communities and to help us become better writers and teachers of writing. I’m also sharing this with you because that’s what writers do: we support each other and promote each other. And I am, after all, a writer.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 13:35:48

    Kudos to Kate for organizing this and to Micki and all the other teachers and librarians who are participating. Since I’m no longer a teacher, I will have to participate in spirit, and, like Micki, get off (or should I say on) my butt and write! Thanks for posting about this Micki. I look for great writing to happen this summer!

    Reply

    • mfryhover
      Jun 03, 2012 @ 15:36:59

      I am really excited about this, especially since there is no Writing Project for us this summer. I still am amazed at the generosity of Kate and the other authors for donating their time to us. It truly is a gift!

      Reply

  2. Ken C.
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 18:42:26

    So the deal is, you just write something on your own blog and then tweet it with #TeachersWrite? At first I thought there was a central location for all of this writing (and boy, howdy, is there ever going to be a LOT of writing!), but maybe not.

    Reply

    • mfryhover
      Jun 03, 2012 @ 18:54:34

      Well, Ken, there will definitely be a lot of us writing and blogging about it before we tweet about it using #TeachersWrite. There will also be a lot of contributions and interactions on the blogs of others, like Kate Messner, Jen Vincent, and Gae Polisner. We’ll find out more tomorrow when it all kicks off. I just know I am stoked and ready to rock this camp! So stay tuned, and feel free to jump in with us!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Lucie Smoker

Kindle top ten author and freelance writer

Dani Stone

I Hear Laugh Tracks

Cat Poland

When Life Gives You a Story, Tell It

chantelltiatrakul

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

Summer of SUCCESS

Having FUN Getting Ready for Sixth Grade!

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

kennedp85

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Russell

YA AUTHOR * SUBMISSIONS COORDINATOR * EDITORIAL ASSISTANT * FREELANCE EDITOR

Our Fun Filled Journey to Motherhood

Just your average lesbian TTC blog!

Book Tasty

a young adult fiction blog

The Tikiman Says...

The Writing Life

Neal Shusterman's Blog

The author's official blog

April in Wichita

squeezing more Life into Poetry

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

