#TeachersWrite! The First Week(ish)

Okay. We’ve been at this Teachers Write! thing for about ten days now, and I thought I’d bring you up to speed and let you know what I’ve been up to with my Work in Progress (WIP).

We’ve had writing prompts from Jo Knowles and quick writes from Kate Messner and guest authors as well. I have to admit, I haven’t written at every prompt and when I have, I have sometimes adapted it and written to suit the needs (demands really) of my WIP. However, EVERY prompt I have written to from one of Kate’s crew as proven to be right on target and has fallen in nicely somewhere in my novel.

In addition to writing prompts, the authors who have come on board have given excellent advice, answered multitudes of questions during a Q & A session on Kate’s blog, and have given us assignments to help us organize a WIP or get started on a new project. One such assignment was to write out some type of outline.

I am the self-proclaimed I-Hate-Outlines Queen, so I took the advice of my buddy Gae Polisner and created what she refers to as a “mini-manuscript” in which you create a document that chronicles your chapters with the first and last lines of each chapter, along with a few bullet points that sum things up.

What I find helpful about this format is getting the gist of each chapter without having to re-read the chapter to refresh my memory. This is super important for me because if I re-read what I’ve written, then I feel compelled to revise, revise, revise and I never get to the part where I add, add, add new chapters. In other words, I sort of end up spinning my wheels and don’t actually move forward toward the finish line (and publication).

Probably one of the most helpful things to me thus far, was combining yesterday’s quick write prompt with a blog post, written by Tamara Felsinger, which one of my fellow Teachers Write! colleagues posted on our Facebook group page pertaining to the main character’s personal agenda (which was pretty brilliant, btw).

Well, what resulted of this tweaking and joining of ideas was…well…an outline looking thingy. An EXTREMELY helpful (and quite possibly one of the most important things I’ve created in the process of writing this novel) outline looking thingy. I mean, who knew I’d end up creating an outline looking thingy and like it?? That Kate Messner and her crew are sneaky, tricky people whom I have quickly come to trust and appreciate in more ways than I thought possible. When my book is all set to publish one day, I’ll have to use up a whole page just to acknowledge them, I think.

And I will happily do so.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sally Wilkins
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 18:40:43

    So glad it’s proving useful, whatever you call it . . .

    Reply

  2. mfryhover
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 18:43:03

    Sally, you and the rest of the crew are rock stars to me! Truly.

    Reply

  3. gaepolisner
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:27:02

    oh yay! Love that mini manuscript thing too for EXACTLY the reason you wrote… so glad it worked for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Reverse Perspective

by Lucie Smoker

Dani Stone

I Hear Laugh Tracks

Cat Poland

When Life Gives You a Story, Tell It

chantelltiatrakul

A topnotch WordPress.com site

J a m m i e K e r n

author of stories for children, teens and young adults

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

Summer of SUCCESS

Having FUN Getting Ready for Sixth Grade!

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

kennedp85

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Russell

YA AUTHOR * SUBMISSIONS COORDINATOR * EDITORIAL ASSISTANT * FREELANCE EDITOR

Our Fun Filled Journey to Motherhood

Just your average lesbian TTC blog!

Book Tasty

a young adult fiction blog

The Tikiman Says...

The Writing Life

Neal Shusterman's Blog

The author's official blog

April in Wichita

squeezing more Life into Poetry

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

