The Best Laid Plans Usually Get Thrown Out The Window

Has it really been nearly a month since my last post? And when did August get here?

I’ve had a crazy busy month that left little time for things like blogging and what not. Oh, and  I just finished a graduate class on eighteenth-century Restoration British literature, which kept me immersed in reading, reading, reading, and writing, writing, writing. The upside is I wrote a damn fine paper on eighteenth-century marriage practices and theories, which just may turn into the Master’s thesis I never intended to write.

Aside from taking this class, I’ve had a lot going on over here and I haven’t really talked about it in this forum. I’m talking BIG changes, and I’m not quite sure where those changes will take me. But here it is in a nutshell: I turned in my resignation for my teaching job in March and have no new teaching job to go to in just a few short days. YIKES!!

Now before you start trippin,’ this was not something I did on a whim or without TONS of consideration, soul searching, or many, many, many long conversations with my husband. Truth be told, I was pretty miserable in my middle school teaching position. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE teaching. With all of my being. But I teaching middle school just isn’t for me, and I pretty much knew that all along. I attempted to move into a high school teaching position for over a year within my own district, but never got anywhere; it became clear that I would need to make a clean break if I were to have any luck achieving my goal of being a high school English teacher.

Unfortunately, even with several interviews that went quite well, I was not offered a position. I knew when I resigned in March this would be a possibility, but I was fairly sure I would score a new position before the new school year began. I was wrong. Now, I’m a smart girl (really I am—in spite of what you’ve just read) and did not go into this without a Plan B. I just didn’t want to have to implement said Plan B.

Plan B entails subbing in my local schooldistrict—which is not the district I worked in—and going to school full time to finish my Master’s degree in English, which I could conceivably finish in the spring. I’ve also been kicking around the idea of getting an MFA in creative writing, but that would add at least another year to my program. Additionally, I have been looking to the future, and the fact that I would really like to teach at the college level—not necessarily the university level, but a community college where I could teach literature classes or creative writing would be fine with me. Okay, so I really DO want to teach at the university level, but that requires a PhD and the thought of writing a 300+ page dissertation makes me want to run away screaming. Loudly. Oh, and it would also mean I would have to have multiple publications by totally legit publishers. Ugh! But who knows? Maybe someday.

But for today, I will simply move forward and reach a couple of goals I have set for myself: finish my Master’s degree and focus on my writing. I have a novel to finish, remember?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 07:05:50

    Doesn’t it make you feel like a kid again? As in, “What will I do when I grow up?” Loved this post, and I can’t wait to read your first book!

    Reply

    • mfryhover
      Aug 01, 2012 @ 12:30:02

      Yeah. I kinda does. As scary as it is not knowing what’s in store for me, it’s also rather freeing in many respects. Plus, I get to do things my way–and I like that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Reverse Perspective

by Lucie Smoker

Dani Stone

I Hear Laugh Tracks

Cat Poland

When Life Gives You a Story, Tell It

chantelltiatrakul

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

Summer of SUCCESS

Having FUN Getting Ready for Sixth Grade!

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

kennedp85

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Russell

YA AUTHOR * SUBMISSIONS COORDINATOR * EDITORIAL ASSISTANT * FREELANCE EDITOR

Our Fun Filled Journey to Motherhood

Just your average lesbian TTC blog!

Book Tasty

a young adult fiction blog

The Tikiman Says...

The Writing Life

Neal Shusterman's Blog

The author's official blog

April in Wichita

squeezing more Life into Poetry

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

