Whatcha Reading?

So it looks like I’ve been neglecting you again. It’s not that I haven’t been thinking about you, because I have. A lot actually. Please forgive me for not taking better care of you.

Well, I’ve been posting quite a bit on Facebook, Twitter, and my brand new writer/author page (also on Facebook) lately about some great books that I’ve recently read and/or have recently received in the mail and just started reading (or will be reading soon), and I thought I’d share them here as well.

What I’ve read in the last couple of weeks:

First up is John Green’s Looking for Alaska. This is John’s first published novel, and it is pretty damn amazing. John is also the author of the brilliant The Fault in Our Stars, which I read earlier this year.

Next up are a couple of short stories: Unstrung by Neal Shusterman and Ryann in the Sky by Jammie Kern. (Jammie NOT as in pa-jammies, but as in Jamie with an extra “m.”)

Unstrung is an interlude between Unwind (my favorite Shusterman book to date) and Unwholly (book two in the Unwind trilogy), which is due out August 28, 2012     *squeeeeee!!!!*

Ryann in the Sky is a cool modern spin on the myth of Orion and is part of a forthcoming anthology of short stories entitled Mythology High. Jammie has two additional short stories that will also be a part of this anthology, and I’m anxious to read them!

                        

What I’m reading now:

I’m juggling a few books right now: two for grad classes (The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins and Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskill) and two for fun. I’m reading Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford in anticipation of meeting him at the KATE (Kansas Association of Teachers of English) conference in October and Danny’s Mom by Elaine Wolf. Danny’s Mom isn’t due for release until November 1, 2012, so finding an advance reading copy in my mailbox earlier this week was a happy surprise. I’ll post a review later this fall.

                  

What I’ll be reading in the not so distant future:

Drum roll please……

See You at Harry’s by Jo Knowles! I’ve been so anxious to read this book, and my friend Kelly who lives in Indiana tells me I better have lots of tissues handy as I read. Don’t worry my friend, I do.

 

So, what are YOU reading?

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Reverse Perspective

by Lucie Smoker

Dani Stone

I Hear Laugh Tracks

Cat Poland

When Life Gives You a Story, Tell It

chantelltiatrakul

A topnotch WordPress.com site

J a m m i e K e r n

author of stories for children, teens and young adults

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Wyz Reads

The Reviews of The Reads of The Wyzlic

Summer of SUCCESS

Having FUN Getting Ready for Sixth Grade!

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

kennedp85

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Russell

YA AUTHOR * SUBMISSIONS COORDINATOR * EDITORIAL ASSISTANT * FREELANCE EDITOR

Our Fun Filled Journey to Motherhood

Just your average lesbian TTC blog!

Book Tasty

a young adult fiction blog

The Tikiman Says...

The Writing Life

Neal Shusterman's Blog

The author's official blog

April in Wichita

squeezing more Life into Poetry

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

